Help Somebody


A few things that are at the top of my list of things I will never comprehend is people who are unkind to others, and, people who are selfish and do not lend a helping hand to those in need.  As I was on my way home, today, I was rushing to the corner to cross the street and catch my bus.  I noticed an older man – approximately in his mid sixties –  sitting in a wheelchair at the corner of the busy intersection. As I got closer, I heard him calling out, “Hello, hello, can someone help me?”  I realized that the groups of people who were a few feet in front of me, passed right by. I asked him, “Do you need some help?”, he replied, “Oh, please, can you help me cross the street?”  I knew the man was blind, as well, because I could see his eyes behind his shades.” I told him I would, and as we crossed the street, he said, “I knew someone had to stop sooner or later. God bless you.”  I began to seethe. How on earth could able-bodied people just walk past a disabled person in need, calling out for assistance? It  would have taken no more than one minute of their time. When we got to the corner, the man told me that he could make it from there, he just needed help crossing that particular street. We said goodbye to one another and parted ways. As I walked to my bus stop, I was still bothered and I wondered to myself, how many people had passed him by, before the groups I saw,  and how long he had been sitting there.

A similar situation happened a few months ago, when I was on a bus. A feeble, elderly man got on, and he was shaking  as he tried to hold onto the pole. Absolutely no one got up to offer their seat. I cannot even count the times I’ve seen pregnant women standing, and no one offered a seat. I could go on and on with selfish acts I’ve witnessed or heard.

It makes me so sad and disappointed when I see people being cruel or selfish when it comes to helping others in need. If you ever think of passing by or disregarding someone in need, just remember.

“There but for the grace of God go I.”

One day, you could be that person. If it’s in your power to do so –  please….HELP SOMEBODY.

If you enjoy this blog, please subscribe for updates and feel free to share with others.

I have received many responses to many of the posts on this blog, thus far. However, may I request that you please reply in the comment section of the blog  – as opposed to on Twitter, Facebook or emails – so, that all responses will be together. Your comment may be helpful to others who come across something that they can relate to. You can comment anonymously.

There’s a moving inner peace that I love to see
Gotta raise my soul to tell you how I feel
Gotta listen to the tears that people cry for me
In a world that’s so wild fear creeps

‘Cause when I get up to hear you tears just fill my eyes
Now I know I got to let the selfishness subside
Tell ‘em y’all

Help somebody, help somebody
Show them what it is, give a little bit more
Help somebody, help somebody
Show them what it is, let ‘em know

If you see the future ask it if I’m there
Ask it if I’m there

Ask it to tell you did I ever make a stand
Ask if you may care to mention, did I learn from everything?
And even if it takes a sea of eternity to know
I’ll wait a century, a buried mess of bones, help me

Help me to give myself the way that you’ve given you
Help me to be the helping hand that makes a dream come true
Choir sing

Help somebody, help somebody
Show them what it is, give a little bit more
Help somebody, help somebody
Show them what it is, let ‘em know

If I’m there, tell me if I’m there
Do you see me there?

Help somebody, help somebody
Show them what it is, give a little bit more
Help somebody, help somebody
Show them what it is, let ‘em know

If you see the future ask it if I’m there
Ask it if I’m there

4 thoughts on “Help Somebody

    • Yes, I agree. It IS terrible. I wish everyone could live in the shoes of someone less fortunate than they are, for a week, or even a day; perhaps, then, they will have more compassion for others.

  1. If your soul is right, helping someone does as much for YOU as it does for them. I know you wanted to just call those folks out right then and there! And you need to stop making me cry!

    • I agree with you 100%. Helping others definitely does something for the soul. Also, the more you do it, the more innate it becomes. And, I apologize for making you cry, but, there’s nothing wrong with that; it just shows that you have compassion for others.

Please Leave a Reply. Another reader might relate to your comment. Thank you.

